Blouse · Uncategorized

Givre Top Review: SewMyStyle2019

givre7

It’s SewMyStyle time again. This month the option was between the Sheona Top by Athina Kakou or the Givre by Deer and Doe. I really liked the color blocking and shape of the Givre top.

A couple days before the patterns were announced I had inspiration on a top hit me. I was thinking about what to wear with my Avery leggings I made for January SewMyStyle. Since they are so thin I have to have tunic length tops to go with it, of which I don’t have very many. At the time, I was going over ideas with the Halifax Hoodie. Emily Hallman showed a sweatshirt she was making with heart elbow patches and I knew I needed a black tee with heart elbow patches. When the patterns was announced, I pivoted my idea to include the colorblocking.

givre3

I sewed up a size 36 in the bust graded to a 40 at the waist. I’m really happy with the fit. Granted, it’s a knit so the fit is flexible. The Givre is not meant to be a tunic, I added 4.5″ to the length to make it tunic length. I also added my usual 1.5″ to the sleeves. It is 3/4 sleeve so it probably didn’t matter but I’m happy with the length.

givre1

Let’s talk fabric. I got both jerseys from fabric.com. The pink is an Telio Brazil Stretch ITY knit, you can tell there is spandex in it. It doesn’t unpick very well. I unpicked and redid the neckband. I thought I was going to be able to see the unpicking on the neckband but it isn’t visable. But I would be weary of making mistakes with this fabric. The black is a Bamboo Rayon Jersey  which is the best tshirt fabric. The leggings was a bamboo jersey and I think I’m in love with a fabric. My fiance even commented on how soft my shirt was.

The sequin fabric is from FashionFabricsClub found here. I had to order a yard so I will eventually make something with the rest.

givre4

Emily Halloman did a full tutorial about how to do the sequin elbow patches on her insta stories. I’m not sure if she’ll post it on her blog. Essentially I interlined the patches with a quilting cotton, sewed a line of stitching 1/4″ around and clipped the edges. Then pressed and handsewed the patches on. It would have been 100% easier to attach when the shirt was flat, but I wanted to make sure the patch placement was right.

givre8

Paired with my Avery Leggings its perfect for Valentine’s day at school. My kids are gonna love my outfit. However, the top is very wearable with other things on a normal day. Which I”m not sure I can pull off my Avery’s outside of Valentine’s day.

givre5

Pattern: Givre Top by Deer and Doe

Fabric: ITY knit, bamboo jersey knit, and sequin mesh fabric

Size: 36 graded to 40

Alterations: 1.5″ added to sleeve and 4.5″ added to body

Overall: I can see myself using this pattern again. Very simple, quick make.

givre2

4 thoughts on “Givre Top Review: SewMyStyle2019

Leave a comment