purse · Uncategorized

Sweet Pea Saddle Bag Review

 

I have a black crossbody bag from Charming Charlie’s that I use all the time. It was the perfect bag for when I didn’t need to carry much besides my wallet and phone. I’ve had it a long time, probably 4-5 years if I had to guess. The fabric has begun tearing at the magnetic snap. I knew I had to either look for a new one, or make one…. I’m a garment sewer at heart, but I knew I wanted to try to make one.

sweetpea1

I began scouring the internet for patterns. I ended up settling on Sweet Pea Saddle Bag from Blue Calla Patterns. Not only did I like the size of the bag, but it’s a FREE pattern. Purses normally cost around 20-60 dollars for me. I wanted to save money by making it, so a free pattern was just what I needed.

sweetpea2

I actually used leftover fabric, so I only needed to purchase magnetic buttons, a rectangular slide, 2 swivel clips, and a zip. I have all the other materials on hand. I was able to make this for about $8, so that was a win. I used  leftover twill from my Tilly & the Buttons Megan dress for the exterior and a swiss dot cotton fabric leftover from my ogden cami ruffle hack for the lining.

I am loving the purse so much already. I’ve already used it on a couple walks with my pup. Threw her poop bags in there, with my keys and phone. I love crossbody bags so that my hands are free and I don’t have to keep it on my shoulder.

sweetpea3

The directions were very easy to follow. I did make the strap a bit longer, but it’s an adjustable strap, so I don’t know that it matters, as I don’t have it at full length.  I left off the tassel as I didn’t want to buy vinyl and didn’t think the print needed anything extra.

sweetpea4

Pattern: Sweet Pea Saddle Bag by Blue Calla Patterns

Size: one size only

Fabric: leftover fabric, twill for exterior, swiss dot for lining

Adjustments: just added a bit to the strap, maybe 4″

Overall: Although I won’t be switching over to sewing all bags, I loved this. It sewed up easily and quickly. It’s going to get a lot of use. I will definitely consider making this again.

sweetpea6

One thought on “Sweet Pea Saddle Bag Review

Leave a comment